I Can’t Eat Pizza Again. Ever.

‘”Please go to this pizzeria. Order the margherita pizza with double mozzarella. If you do not eat this pizza when you are Naples, please lie to me later and tell me that you did…’ I am having a relationship with my pizza… Meanwhile, Sofie is practically in tears over hers.” Eat, Pray, Love – Elizabeth Glibert

It’s true. I can never eat pizza again. And it is not because I am tired of pizza or that I had a bad pizza. It is because I am afraid of losing the taste of the amazing pizza that I experienced while in Napoli.

My gastronomic goal while in Napoli was to visit Pizzeria da Michele. This old pizzeria has been passed down through generations since 1870 and is said to have the best pizza in Napoli. Napoli is said to have the best pizza in the world. Therefore, this pizza, the pizza of Pizzeria da Michele, must be the best pizza in the world. And you know what? I think it was the best pizza I had ever eaten, and I have had my fill of pizza in Italy!

When we got to the pizzeria, a huge crowd was already gathered around the door, waiting for their table. We waited about an hour and then we were finally let in. Our table was right by the ovens. We had a great view of the baker and watched as the quickly slipped the thin, floppy pizzas next to the wood-burning fire.

The dough was thin, but soft. The sauce was sweet. I even got double mozzarella; that is, double buffalo mozzarella! It was heaven.

One thought on “I Can’t Eat Pizza Again. Ever.

Leave a Reply

