Fava Beans

I guess I have been on a bit of a food kick lately, but some of the food is so different than what we have in the United States.  Food is always so fresh that I can’t help but try it.

Fava beans were something I had always heard of,


“I ate his liver with some fava beans and a nice Chianti”   -Dr. Hannibal Lecter

but never seen at the markets before.  With the onset of spring, the beans were ripe and Italian Grandmas were buying them by the bag load.  So, I bought a few.

The beans themselves had to be removed from two shells.  First, the thick outer pod, with its fuzzy inner lining.  Then, I quickly boiled them in some salt water and the bean slipped out of their individual shell.  For the size of the pod, the actual beans are really tiny.

I mashed them together with some lentils, olive oil, and salt and spread them on a piece of baguette and then added a slice of fresh mozzarella.  It was so fantastic and fresh.  Perfect for a warm spring day in Toscana!

 

Leave a Reply

